Big KRIT Hits The ‘Rhode Clean’ In His Silky New Video

Big KRIT dropped off the latest video supporting his album Digital Roses Don’t Die today (June 1) for “Rhode Clean.” The ’80s-inspired visual directed by Thang Ho opens with an exquisitely dressed woman doing a brief stand-up comedy set before introducing the Mississippi rapper, who comes onto the stage dressed pretty sharply himself. From there, he delivers a performance of the record accompanied by a live band. The video continues showing flashes of luxury vehicles, other attendees dressed to the nines, and KRIT eventually makes his way outside to rap while flanked by women sitting atop one of the cars. It’s a special affair.

“Rhode Clean” follows the “So Cool” music video that was released back in January, leading into the February release of Digital Roses Don’t Die. The 17-song album’s sole feature was Rolynne and is the 35-year-old’s fifth studio album following 2019’s KRIT Iz Here. Big KRIT left the Def Jam label in 2016, and has since launched his own record label, Multi Alumni. The first release under Multi Alumni was his third studio album, 2017’s 4eva Is A Mighty Long Time, which debuted at No. 7 on the Billboard 200 chart.

Check out the smooth new video for “Rhode Clean” above.

Wiz Khalifa, Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, And Girl Talk Party Like They Mean It In Their ‘Ain’t No Fun’ Video

If ever there was an unexpected supergroup, it would be the unnamed team-up of mashup DJ Girl Talk with blog rap icons Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, and Wiz Khalifa. The group popped up from out of nowhere with their debut single “Put You On” in March, then continued their rollout with “How The Story Goes” a few weeks later. Today, they shared another party-ready anthem, “Ain’t No Fun,” along with a music video that captures the hedonistic spirit of the song.

Girl Talk explained the production philosophy behind “Ain’t No Fun” in a statement, calling it “a flip on the concept of Snoop’s original, kind of from the female perspective of the titular line. I wanted to keep the production diverse throughout the project, while still maintaining a cohesive feel. This beat stands out in the context of the album because it doesn’t have a sample and uses a more minimal style. But I thought that with some of the specific sound design and the overall energy, it really connected to the project as a whole.”

The project in question is Full Court Press, which is due on April 8 via Asylum.

Watch Wiz Khalifa, Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, and Girl Talk’s “Ain’t No Fun” video above.

Artists covered here are Warner Music artists. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.

Best New Music This Week: Kid Cudi, NIGO, Yeat, Jack Harlow, and More

Image via Complex Original

  • NIGO & Kid Cudi, “Want It Bad” 

  • Jack Harlow, “Nail Tech”

  • Yeat f/ Young Thug, “Outside”

  • Vince Staples & Mustard, “Magic”

  • Gunna, “Banking on Me”

  • Big K.R.I.T., “Southside of the Moon” 

  • Baby Tate, “S.H.O (Sl*t Him Out)”