Big KRIT Hits The ‘Rhode Clean’ In His Silky New Video

Big KRIT dropped off the latest video supporting his album Digital Roses Don’t Die today (June 1) for “Rhode Clean.” The ’80s-inspired visual directed by Thang Ho opens with an exquisitely dressed woman doing a brief stand-up comedy set before introducing the Mississippi rapper, who comes onto the stage dressed pretty sharply himself. From there, he delivers a performance of the record accompanied by a live band. The video continues showing flashes of luxury vehicles, other attendees dressed to the nines, and KRIT eventually makes his way outside to rap while flanked by women sitting atop one of the cars. It’s a special affair.

“Rhode Clean” follows the “So Cool” music video that was released back in January, leading into the February release of Digital Roses Don’t Die. The 17-song album’s sole feature was Rolynne and is the 35-year-old’s fifth studio album following 2019’s KRIT Iz Here. Big KRIT left the Def Jam label in 2016, and has since launched his own record label, Multi Alumni. The first release under Multi Alumni was his third studio album, 2017’s 4eva Is A Mighty Long Time, which debuted at No. 7 on the Billboard 200 chart.

Check out the smooth new video for “Rhode Clean” above.

The Wiz Khalifa, Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, And Girl Talk Supergroup Share The Breezy ‘How The Story Goes’

The new supergroup of Wiz Khalifa, Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, and Girl Talk is a wholly unexpected one, but the foursome are showing that it totally works. Girl Talk’s Greg Gillis — Wiz Khalifa’s Pittsburgh compatriot — is a deft hip-hop producer. Gone are the frenetic mash-ups that took the world by storm, and instead, we get a breezy, chilled out canvas for three uniquely talented rappers to shine.

The group’s debut album, Full Court Press album, is out on April 8th and Gillis says that “it’s a unique intersection of all of our work.” The tracks tend to feature a combination of the four, with Girl Talk as the only constant. “Put You On” was the first single, and it struck a balance between Wiz’s melodious raps, Smoke DZA’s East Coast punch and Big KRIT’s definitive Southern style. Now on “How The Story Goes,” Wiz and KRIT shine on a mellow groove from Girl Talk that shows the vision behind a project that needs to be taken seriously.

Listen to “How The Story Goes” above and check out the Full Court Press album artwork and tracklist below.

Full Court press
Shot by Cones

1. “Mind Blown” (Wiz Khalifa, Smoke DZA, Girl Talk)
2. “Put You On” (Wiz Khalifa, Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, Girl Talk)
3. “Season” (Smoke DZA, Girl Talk)
4. “How The Story Goes” (Big KRIT, Wiz Khalifa, Girl Talk)
5. “No Singles” (Wiz Khalifa, Smoke DZA, Big KRIT, Girl Talk)
6. “Ready For Love” (Wiz Khalifa, Girl Talk)
7. “Revenge Of The Cool” (Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, Girl Talk)
8. “Ain’t No Fun” (Wiz Khalifa, Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, Girl Talk)
9. “Fly The Coop” (Big KRIT, Girl Talk)
10. “Everyday” ft. Currensy (Big KRIT, Smoke DZA, Wiz Khalifa, Girl Talk)

Full Court Press is out 4/8 via Asylum/Taylor Gang. Pre-save it here.

Wiz Khalifa is a Warner Music artist. Uproxx is an independent subsidiary of Warner Music Group.

Most Anticipated Hip-Hop Albums of 2022

Which album are you waiting for? Continue reading…

Big KRIT Announces The Release Date Of His Next Album, ‘Digital Roses Don’t Die’

It has been nearly three years since Big KRIT’s last full-length release, KRIT Iz Here, building on the growing independent catalog he began cultivating in 2017 with 4eva Is A Mighty Long Time. Since he can release music on his own schedule now, it’s no surprise that the run up to his follow-up was as unhurried as it has been, but the wait is almost over.

The first hint that KRIT was preparing to break his hiatus with a new release came on New Music Friday last week when he dropped the video for his groovy comeback single, “So Cool.” Today, he revealed the new album’s title and release date. It’s called Digital Roses Don’t Die — a fittingly multilayered meditation on legacy, a constant theme throughout his music (his name stands for King Remembered In Time, after all) — and it’s due on February 18 through KRIT’s own operation, Multi Til I Die.

KRIT also shared the album cover, which breaks tradition by featuring the back of his head as he faces away from the camera, showing off an intricate braid pattern of a rose in his hair, surrounded by an elegant-looking portrait frame. We’ll presumably find out more in the coming weeks, but for now, check out the cover below.

Best Mixtapes From 10 Years Ago Ranked

The best 25 tapes from 2011 created by Lil Wayne, Frank Ocean, A$AP Rocky, The Weeknd, Meek Mill and more. Continue reading…

Here’s a Complete List of Every XXL Freshman Over the Years

A look at all of the stars who have graced XXL Freshman covers over the years. Continue reading…